Burundi or the Republic of Burundi is a minute country which is mainly bordered by land. Tanzania lies to its east and south, Rwanda to its north and Democratic Republic of Congo to its west. Even though this region is bordered by land from all the sides it is next to the Lake Tanganyika. The name Burundi is derived from the name Kirundi and Bantu which is a language of Bantu tribes. Burundi is possibly the poorest country in the whole world as its per capita is lowest in the world. Centuries back Burundi was occupied by Bantu tribes and the pygmoid Twa. But in the year 1903 was conquered by Germans and during the First World War it was passed on to Belgium. After fifty nine years of rule over Burundi Belgium declared Burundi as an independent country. On 1st of July 1962 Burundi gained independence and the region was under military rule until the 1993 elections.

Burundi is been divided into 17 districts which are Kirundo, Bubanza, Ruyigi, Rutana, Kayanza, Karuzi, Gitega, Cibitoke, Ngozi, Muyinga, Muramvya, Makamba, Cankuzo, Bururi, Bujumbura Mairie and Bujumbura Rural. Main languages of this region are French, Kirundi and Swahili and majority of people are Roman Catholics. 23 percent of people are indigenous while 10 percent are Muslims and 5 percent are Protestants. The chief occupation of the people in Burundi is agriculture although there are few people who live their livelihood on pastures. Major crops in Burundi include coffee, tea, cotton, bananas, sweet potatoes, corn, milk and beef. Burundi also imports products such as petroleum, capital goods and foodstuffs from neighboring countries. Burundi also has two famous National Parks namely Ruburu National Park and Kibira National Park.

Why Zorg Directory ?
  • Help Getting listed in major search engines
  • Improvement in Search Engine Rankings
  • Targeting specific keywords / phrases
  • Increased Traffic
  • Increase the Website’s Visibility
  • Brand building
Webmaster & Entertainment Resources
Recent Blog Entries